77.8 F
Monday, July 22, 2024

Indiana Minority Business Magazine celebrates Champions of Diversity

More by this author

On January 15, 2016 business owners, dignitaries, and community leaders will gather to celebrate the 11th Annual Champions of Diversity Awards Dinner. The Indiana Minority Business Magazine will recognize 12 individuals, organizations, and institutions that have demonstrated tremendous effort in the areas of diversity and inclusion.

Recipients will be honored during the annual Champions of Diversity Awards Dinner on January 15 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Indianapolis. A networking reception begins at 5:30 p.m.; dinner will be served at 6:30 p.m. with the awards presentation immediately following.

Purchase tickets here!

Last year’s sold out event featured local media personalities Aishah Hasnie (WXIN), Rafael Sanchez (WRTV), and the late Amos Brown (Radio One), a free after-party hosted by DJ Geno and Thomas Sparklesoxx Griffin with music from DJ Metrognome, and a Hollywood red carpet hosted by local entertainment news show Real Scene TV. The 2015 Champions of Diversity honorees included the Governor’s Council for People with Disabilities, the NCAA Office of Inclusion, Richard Propes (public speaker, Quaker minister, advocate for the disabled) and Joe Slash (former CEO, Indianapolis Urban League) and many more.

“The late Robert Kennedy once said that ultimately, America’s answer to the intolerant man is diversity. I can think of no better time than now to celebrate those who boldly advocate each day for equity and acceptance,” said Recorder President Shannon Williams. “I am overjoyed once again at the opportunity to honor such a deserving class of Champions.”

Below are the 2016 Champions of Diversity award recipients as well as IMBM’s Rosa Parks Trailblazer Award, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Award, and William G. Mays Excellence in Entrepreneurship Award recipients. The honorees of these three distinctive awards have gone exceedingly above and beyond in their professional lives:


2016 Champions of Diversity Honorees:

 Harry and Michelle Dunn: Founders, HIM by HER Foundation

 Kimberly Dunning: Manager of Supplier Diversity & Development, Vectren

 Engaging Solutions, LLC (William G. Mays Excellence in Entrepreneurship Award recipient)

 Mark and Karen Hill: Founders, Collina Ventures (Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Freedom Award recipient)

 Indianapolis Airport Authority

 Indiana Plan

 Casey Foyt, Vice Chair/Owner; Kalen Irsay, Vice Chair/Owner; Carlie Irsay-Gordon, Vice Chair/Owner: Indianapolis Colts

 Barry Magee: Assistant Director for Diversity Education at Indiana University

 The Oaks Academy (Rosa Parks Trailblazer Award recipient)

 Patricia Payne: Former director of multicultural education, IPS

 John Schnatter: Founder/CEO, Papa John’s Pizza

 Subaru of Indiana Automotive, Inc.


For more information on sponsorships, tables, and ticket purchases contact Ebony Chappel at ebonyc@indianapolisrecorder.com


- Advertisement -

Upcoming Online Townhalls

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest local news.

Stay connected


Related articles

Popular articles

Español + Translate »
Skip to content