37.7 F
Friday, January 15, 2021

Recorder Honors: Former publishers, community leaders and others to be honored at 120th Anniversary Celebration

More by this author

New book tells insider stories about Pacers, ABA

“We Changed the Game,” a new book that tells an insiders’, fly-on-the-wall account from the wild days of the Indiana Pacers’ American Basketball Association...

IPS School Board Votes to Pursue Referenda to Support Teachers, Enhance Special Needs Services

The IPS Board of School Commissioners voted tonight to approve resolutions to pursue operating and capital referenda in the May 2018 primary election to...

Indiana leaders continue work toward transforming ‘win-at-all-costs’ sports culture

The InSideOut Initiative — a nonprofit aimed at transforming the “win-at-all-costs” sports culture, which launched in Indiana in August — is expected to be...

HUD report: Homelessness in Indiana declines in 2017

Homelessness has declined in Indiana, according to the latest national estimate by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). While overall homelessness...

Inspirational journalist and educator Helen Keller once shared, “Alone we can do so little, together we can do so much.”


For over a century, the Indianapolis Recorder Newspaper has achieved great feats due in no small part to the contributions and support of the Indianapolis community.


On Oct. 15, the Recorder will honor the legacy of those individuals who have played a monumental role in the continuing mission and vision of the paper to educate and inform generations of readers to come.


The Recorder awards ceremony will take place on Oct. 15 at 6 p.m. as a part of their 120th Anniversary celebration. The event will be held at the Indiana State Museum in the Frank O Bannon Great Hall and Terrace. Admission is free and all are encouraged to attend.



Wilma Moore – Archivist with the Indiana Historical Society

IUPUI Digital Library – Curated a digital database of Indianapolis Recorder archives dating from 1899 – 2003

Carolene Mays-Medley – Former president

Eunice Trotter – Former publisher/owner

Mari Evans – Internationally known poet, and author

Amos Brown – Award-winning radio host and Recorder columnist

Tysha Sellars – Executive director of the Edna Martin Christian Center, coordinator of JAWS (Journalism and Writing Seminar – The Recorder’s journalism program for high school students)

Charles Blair – Former president of the Recorder

Recorder Women’s Auxiliary – Charitable organization tied to the Recorder that provides book scholarships to area students headed to college, formerly known as Recorder Women’s Charities

Rev. Neris Willis – Local pastor, longtime supporter of the Recorder

Barbara Turner – descendant of founder George C. Stewart


Posthumous Honors:

William G. Mays – Former publisher, owner of Mays Chemical Co.

Louise Batties – IPS educator, founder of Recorder Women’s Charities

George P. Stewart – Founder

Arthur Carter – Tuskegee Airman, former controller of Recorder

William Skinny Alexander – Former columnist, political activist

William Raspberry – Former columnist, Pulitzer-prize winner

William Porter – Founder

Bill Crawford – Longtime supporter, former legislator

Sharon Maxey – Former Recorder employee  


- Advertisement -

Upcoming Online Townhalls

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest local news.

Stay connected


Related articles

Popular articles

Art & Soul Fest goes virtual

The Art & Soul Festival, hosted by the Arts Council of Indianapolis, is usually a chance for artists and Indianapolis residents to...

Our Future is Powerful Voices

This program is closing the opportunity gap for black and brown students. Find out how you can participate.

Too many are dying

Black Indianapolis has to rediscover a culture of life. Last year we lost 158 Black people to criminal homicides...

Dennis Murphy: Our path forward: Ensuring trust, equity in health care

The COVID-19 pandemic has laid bare persistent, systemic racial disparities in communities across the United States, including the lasting effect of inequality...

It’s on you, white America

The insurrection at the Capitol is as American as apple pie. I know many in white America have a...
Español + Translate »
Skip to content