61.7 F
Monday, April 12, 2021

Eight Vikings heading to NFL’s Pro Bowl

More by this author

The Minnesota Vikings will have eight players in the 2010 Pro Bowl, more than any other team.

Dallas, Indianapolis and Philadelphia each had six players on the roster announced Tuesday for the game to be played Jan. 31 at Dolphin Stadium in Miami – also to be the site of the Super Bowl the following week.

The starting quarterbacks will be Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints for the NFC and Peyton Manning of Indianapolis in the AFC.

Among the Vikings chosen are running back Adrian Peterson, who will be a starter for the NFC team, and quarterback Brett Favre, selected as a backup.

Other NFC starters include receivers DeSean Jackson of Philadelphia and Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals.

Among defensive players chosen to start for the NFC are Jared Allen of Minnesota, Jay Ratliff of Dallas and Julius Petters of the Carolina Panthers.

Philadelphia’s David Akers starts as the NFC placekicker.

AFC starters, in addition to Manning, will include running back Chris Johnson of Tennessee and receivers Reggie Wayne of Indianapolis and Andre Johnson of Houston.

Defensive AFC starters include Robert Mathis and Dwight Freeney of the Colts, Ray Lewis of Baltimore and James Harrison of Pittsburgh.

Nate Kaeding of San Diego was named starting placekicker.

Cleveland Browns return specialist Josh Cribbs, who set an NFL record with eight kickoff returns for touchdowns, also was chosen for the AFC team.

Pro Bowl selections are based on voting from players, coaches and fans.

© 2009 UPI. Displayed by permission. All rights reserved.

- Advertisement -

Upcoming Online Townhalls

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest local news.

Stay connected


Related articles

Popular articles

Español + Translate »
Skip to content