88.4 F
Monday, June 17, 2024

Meet the four candidates seeking three seats on IPS school board

More by this author

Amelia Pak-Harvey, Elizabeth Gabriel, WFYI, Chalkbeat Indiana

This article was co-published by Chalkbeat Indiana and WFYI as part of a collaboration ahead of the 2022 school board elections. Join Chalkbeat Indiana and WFYI to hear from candidates for IPS school board at a forum at 6 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 5 at the Indianapolis Public Library, Central Branch. RSVP and submit questions here.

Four candidates are vying for three open seats on the Indianapolis Public Schools board of school commissioners. None are incumbents.

The winners will oversee a tumultuous period of change for the state’s largest district, as IPS considers whether to close seven schools and break up its K-8 schools to form standalone middle schools in an attempt to address declining enrollment and a future financial crisis.

But only one race is actually contested: the race between Hope Hampton and Kristen Elizabeth Phair for District 3, which encompasses the midtown area of Indianapolis. The winner will replace Evan Hawkins, current board president and one-term member who is not seeking reelection.

Angelia Moore seeks an at-large seat being vacated by one-term member Susan Collins. Nicole Carey seeks the District 5 seat, which includes the northwest part of the district. Incumbent Taria Slack, who also served one term, is not seeking reelection.

RISE Indy and Stand for Children Indiana, groups closely linked to support of charter schools and other education reforms, have both endorsed Hampton.

Chalkbeat and WFYI sent each of the candidates seven questions to help voters learn more ahead of the election on Nov. 8. 

Also read: Interest in running for Indianapolis school board drops to new low

Chalkbeat and WFYI will also host a candidate forum on Oct. 5 at the Indianapolis Public Library Central Branch. 

Voters within District 3 and District 5 can vote for their respective district candidates. Voters living anywhere within IPS boundaries can vote for the one at-large seat. Here’s a map of the districts for the IPS school board.

Voter registration ends on Oct. 11. Marion County residents can register to vote here

Early voting begins on Oct. 12 at the Indianapolis City-County Building at 200 E. Market St. Additional early voting sites open on Oct. 29. Find those online here.

On Election Day on Nov. 8, Marion County residents can vote at any of the county’s vote centers.

Amelia Pak-Harvey covers Indianapolis and Marion County schools for Chalkbeat Indiana. Contact Amelia at apak-harvey@chalkbeat.org.

Elizabeth Gabriel covers Indianapolis and Marion County schools for WFYI. Contact Elizabeth at egabriel@wfyi.org.

Chalkbeat is a nonprofit news site covering educational change in public schools.

- Advertisement -

Upcoming Online Townhalls

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest local news.

Stay connected


Related articles

Popular articles

Español + Translate »
Skip to content