67.6 F
Monday, May 20, 2024

Special election candidates

More by this author

Marion County Democrats will hold a special caucus this Saturday, Jan. 12 at Shortridge Middle School to select a candidate to compete in the March 11 special election. The candidate will fill the 7th District Congressional seat left vacant by the Dec. 15 death of Congresswoman Julia Carson. The winner of the special election will finish out the remainder of Carson’s term, which expires at the end of this year.

Candidates who will run in the Democratic caucus include: Indianapolis Recorder Publisher and President, State Rep. Carolene Mays D-Indianapolis; as well as Andre Carson, City-County Councilman; Stephanie McCabe, human resources professional; State Rep. David Orentlicher D-Indianapolis; Randle Pollard, attorney; Michael Rodman, Marion Country Treasurer; Joanne Sanders, City-County Council minority leader; Jeffrey White, principal; and Frances Nelson Williams, community activist.

Republicans will a hold a caucus on Sunday, Jan. 13 to select a candidate for the special election. At Recorder press time the candidates for that caucus included State Rep. John Elrod R-Indianapolis and Tom Rose, an aide to former Mayor Steve Goldsmith.

- Advertisement -

Upcoming Online Townhalls

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest local news.

Stay connected


Related articles

Popular articles

Español + Translate »
Skip to content