63.7 F
Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Recorder Media Group opens nominations for 2024 Champions of Diversity Awards 

More by this author

2022 Champions of Diversity Award Winners. (Photo/Indianapolis Recorder)

Nominations for the 2024 Champions of Diversity Awards are officially open.  

Presented by the Minority Business Review and Indiana Minority Business Magazine, the 2024 Champions of Diversity Awards nominations opened Aug. 1. The 17th annual awards dinner, which is set to take place Jan. 12, 2024, aims to highlight individuals, companies and organizations exhibiting exemplary commitment to diversity in Indiana throughout the year. 

“Our Champions of Diversity awards dinner continues to grow. This demonstrates that bringing greater visibility to diversity, equity and inclusion advocates matters now more than ever,” Robert Shegog, president and CEO of Recorder Media Group, said in a statement. “In 2024, we are excited to expand the Champions of Diversity footprint to a national level through the Minority Business Review. The awards dinner in January will bring together local, state, and national diversity champions who continue to make a positive impact on minority communities in Indiana.” 

Champions of Diversity Award winners will be celebrated alongside six additional award winners who will receive one of the following: Rosa Parks Trailblazer Award, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Award, William G. Mays Excellence in Entrepreneurship Award, Lifetime Education Advocate Award, President’s Choice Award and a new award dedicated to the late Amos Brown. 

The Amos Brown Community Advocate Award honors Brown, who was a long-time Indianapolis journalist and community crusader. The Community Advocate Award will be given to an individual who has continued his legacy of advocacy in Indiana. 

Champions of Diversity have highlighted dozens of diverse leaders and advocates over the past 17 years and will continue to recognize the hard work and dedication to diversity people are doing in the city. Previous Champions of Diversity Award winners include Dr. Toby Malichi, founder and CEO of Malichi Group Worldwide; Winne Bulaya, founder of Refugee Welcome Basket; Engaging Solutions, Meticulous Design + Architecture, Karrah Herring, Chief Equity, Inclusion and Opportunity officer of the State of Indiana; The Oaks Academy, Vera Bradley, The Mind Trust, Dr. Eugene White, former president emeritus of Martin University; and many more

Nominations for the 2024 Champions of Diversity Awards will be accepted through Sept. 29 and are open to anyone regardless of race, discipline, industry or background. Third-party nominations and self-applications are both welcomed.  

The Annual Champions of Diversity Awards Dinner will be held Friday, Jan. 12, 2024, at the JW Marriott Indianapolis, 10 W. St. The dinner will begin at 6:30 p.m. and will be preceded by a networking reception at 5:30 p.m.  

The event will conclude at approximately 8:30 p.m. For more information, visit indianapolisrecorder.com or contact championsofdiversity@indyrecorder.com

- Advertisement -

Upcoming Online Townhalls

- Advertisement -

Subscribe to our newsletter

To be updated with all the latest local news.

Stay connected


Related articles

Popular articles

Español + Translate »
Skip to content